easternlop.blogg.se

The land of the free because of the brave world war 1
The land of the free because of the brave world war 1





the land of the free because of the brave world war 1 the land of the free because of the brave world war 1

I knew every one by name and several were close friends. Twenty-five of my West Point classmates were killed in Vietnam. Many friends of mine were wounded, even killed, in combat. Soldiers at war endure incredible physical hardships, as well as fear, despair, anguish, and an all-encompassing human experience of mental and emotional agony. Like others who have experienced combat, I cannot find the words to adequately describe how horrible it is. Little did I know just how difficult it would be to “serve and sacrifice” until my turn came to serve in Vietnam. Serving and sacrificing for the common good always seemed like the right thing to do going to West Point and committing myself to this life was pretty natural for me. Those people I grew up admiring inspired me to join the Army. Now, I am also a veteran … so identified because I served in the Armed Forces during a war. They were veterans, and I admired them and their values. They valued freedom and liberty, patriotism, love of country, and they were willing to serve and sacrifice to defend these beliefs. Growing up in a military environment, the people we knew would always salute when the flag went by and show respect for their country. That continuous chain has extended now to over 100 years with my own 36-year career and that of my daughter, a 20-year veteran F-18 pilot, who has been inducted in the Naval Aviation Hall of Fame. When he joined the Navy in 1902, my grandfather began a chain of commissioned service in our family that continued with my uncles, and my father, all of whom were career navy officers. When I was growing up, I was immersed in an atmosphere of patriotism and service. Reflections on the Service of Our Veteransīy Incoming Westminster President Dr.







The land of the free because of the brave world war 1